Location: Fifth Avenue at East 70th Street, New York, NY
Landmark Status: NYC Individual Landmark, National Historic Landmark
Original Architects: Carrère and Hastings; John Russell Pope; Harry Van Dyke, John Barrington & Frederick Poehler
Dates of Construction: 1913, 1931, 1977
Date of Restoration: 1998-present
Scope of Work: Copper Roofing Replacement, Limestone Facade Restoration, Limestone Stair Wall and Balustrade Reconstruction, Wrought-Iron Fence and Ornamental Iron Pier Restoration, Bluestone Sidewalk Reconstruction
Awards: Transformation Award (Friends of the Upper East Side Historic Districts), Lucy G. Moses Preservation Award (New York Landmarks Conservancy)
The Frick Collection was originally a private residence for Henry Clay Frick designed by the firm of Carrère & Hastings and completed in 1913. Mr. Frick was an avid art collector, and after his widow’s death in 1931, alterations designed by John Russell Pope converted the structure into a museum, which opened to the public in 1935. The museum was further expanded in 1977 following designs by Harry van Dyke, John Barrington Bayley, G. Frederick Poehler, and landscape architect Russell Page. The property now consists of five interrelated limestone buildings with two elaborate outdoor gardens.
In 1998, Walter B. Melvin Architects, LLC was hired to survey exterior conditions and develop a comprehensive, multi-phase restoration program. This plan focused initially on the most pressing façade deterioration and leaks, to be followed by work to restore garden and sidewalk areas.
Since then, a number of façade, roofing, window and grounds projects have been successfully completed. These include the restoration of limestone masonry, replacement of leaking copper roofing, and refurbishment of historic wood casement windows and French doors at the Residence and Reception Hall.
In 2000, an extensive reconstruction of the Fifth Avenue garden and sidewalk was initiated. This project involved the complete rebuilding of limestone stairs, walls and balustrades and restoration of ornamental wrought-iron fences and piers. The cracking non-original granite sidewalk was replaced in 2002 with bluestone slabs to match the original 1913 configuration.
In 2010-11, WBMA consulted on the award-winning restoration and enclosure of the limestone portico overlooking the Fifth Avenue garden during its conversion to a gallery space.
WBMA continues to aid The Frick Collection in their restoration and renovation needs, providing ongoing assessments, recommendations and construction administration for the façades, roofs and grounds of this important cultural institution and architectural landmark.
With over 19 years of experience in the field, Sergio has been instrumental in the successful restoration, repair, and continued maintenance of numerous historic structures in New York City and beyond. 13 of those years have been at WBMA, where he has taken a detailed and methodical approach to his projects. Some of his noteworthy ongoing projects include Casa Italiana, Columbia University; The Osborne; 100 Hudson Street; 525 Park Avenue; 130 East End Avenue; and 300 West 108th Street. Previous award-winning projects include 131 Duane Steet – the Hope Building, 451 Broome Street, Donald Judd Home & Studio, and Marymount School of New York. He is a Registered Architect in the States of New York and New Jersey. Originally from Puerto Rico, Sergio received his Master of Science in Historic Preservation from the University of Pennsylvania and Bachelor of Architecture with a Minor in Architectural History from Carnegie Mellon University.
University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA
Master of Science in Historic Preservation
Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA
Bachelor of Architecture
Minor in Architectural History
Registered Architect in the States of New York and New Jersey
Martin has worked in the architecture and construction industry for over 30 years, including 26 years at WBMA specializing in the assessment and repair of exterior envelopes. He has overseen several award-winning restoration projects including St. Paul’s Chapel – Columbia University, 451 Broome Street, Liberty Tower and Alwyn Court, as well as restoration projects at Louis Sullivan’s Bayard-Condict Building, the Cosmopolitan Club, several City parks and residential cooperatives. Martin is well versed in the myriad building materials that have been used in the northeast and has extensive experience assessing and restoring a variety of masonry and roofing systems. He is a graduate of the University of Southern California and is a Registered Architect in New York State.
University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA
Bachelor of Architecture
Registered Architect in the State of New York
With 35 years of professional experience at WBMA, Robert has overseen restoration projects at many of New York City’s premier institutions, including The Met Cloisters, Donald Judd Home and Studio, Green-Wood Cemetery and Riverside Church, as well as McKim Mead and White’s 998 Fifth Avenue and William Tuthill’s Schinasi Mansion at 351 Riverside Drive. A graduate of Lehigh University, Robert is a Registered Architect in the States of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut, as well as a member of the American Institute of Architects. He has a strong understanding of traditional building materials and has developed many new restoration techniques over the years. Robert has published articles on waterproofing of historic masonry walls, restoration of cast iron, and roofing replacement.
Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA
Bachelor of Art in Architecture
Registered Architect in the States of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut